Gossip, Politics, Trending

Yahaya Bello winner of Kogi governorship election

Independent National Electoral
Commissioner has declared Yahaya Bello
of the All Progressives Congress the
governor-elect of Kogi State, following
yesterday’s conclusion of the
governorship election declared
inconclusive on November 22.
The Returning Officer, Immanuel Kucha,
declared Mr. Bello winner at 5.26 AM on
Sunday, ending a collation exercsise that
started 11.06pm on Saturday.
Saturday’s Supplementary election held
in 91 polling units across 18 local
government areas on Saturday.
The supplementary poll did not hold only
in three local government area, namely
Mopa, Ogori Magogo and Yagba East.
The election was declared inconclusive
after the margin of win between PDP
and APC was less than the number of
registered voters in the 91 polling units
where election was cancelled.
According to the results declared by Mr.
Kucha, Vice Chancellor, University of
Agriculture, Makurdi, the APC garnered
6,885 votes in the supplementary
election, bringing the total votes it
received to 247,752, having polled
240,857 in the November 21 election.
The second runner up, the Peoples
Democratic Party and its candidate, Idris
Wada, who is the incumbent governor,
scored 5,363 in the supplementary
Thus, PDP polled a total of 204, 877
votes, having had 199,514 at the
November 21 election.
“That Yahaya Bello of the APC, having
satisfied the requirement of the law and
scored the majority is hereby decakred
winner,” Mr. Kucha said.
Mr. Bello, 40, emerged APC candidate for
the supplementary election, after the
demise of Abubakar Audu on November
22. The deceased won the APC primary
election, with Mr. Bello was first runner-
A total of 1,379,971 voters were
registered for the election but only
526,389 were accredited.
After the merger of the substantive and
the supplementary elections, Mr. Kucha
announced the total number of valid
votes to be 472,983; rejected votes as
21740; and total votes cast as 494723.
A total of 3,342 votes were cancelled.
The supplementary election was
generally peaceful and calm, albeit
characterised by low turnout of voters.
However, in few places like Etiaja
junction, Anyingba ward, Dekina LGA,
Olla ward in Ijumu LGA, Akpanyo and
Ayah wards in Ibaji LGA, and Kupa
Northeast, election was cancelled due to
various reasons, including violence,
snatching of election materials and over-
Meanwhile, the National Electoral
Commissioner, supervising the Kogi
election, Amina Zakari, stated that
Abiodun Faleke could not withdraw
himself as the deputy givernorship
candidate of APC.
Ms. Zakari said this before the
commencement of collation of results of
the supplementary election.
She was reacting to a question by PDP
agent, Joe Agada, who called attention to
Mr. Faleke’s withdrawal letter to INEC.
Ms. Zakari, a former acting chairperson
of INEC, said Mr. Faleke was “the name
provided by the party.”
“Candidate’s letter is not enough to
withdraw himself,” she said.
She, however, advised the PDP agent to
seek redress in court.


His Excellency Al. Yahaya Bello Kogi State Governor elect.

The breakdown of the results of the
supplementary election is as follows:
Okene LGA (one pollung unit)
RV 676
AV 217
APC 208
PDP 02
Okehi LGA (one polling unit)
RV 403
AV 110
APC 108
Kogi Kotokarfe (two polling units across
two wards)
RV 1689
AV 738
APC 406
PDP 281
Idah LGA (one polling unit)
RV 310
AV 141
APC 62
PDP 70
Yagba West LGA (one polling unit)
RV 375
AV 165
APC 86
PDP 73
Adavi LGA (five polling units across five
RV 2166
AV 931
APC 878
PDP 12
Igalamela/Odolu LGA (three polling units
across three wards)
RV 1501
AV 558
APC 92
PDP 431
(Result signed by only the agent of PDP).
Kabba-Bunu LGA (four polling units
across three wards)
RV 1767
AV 375
APC 201
PDP 131
Ajaokuta LGA (three polling units across
three wards)
RV 1411
AV 567
APC 538
PDP 12
Olamaboro LGA (four polling units
across four wards)
RV 2047
AV 555
APC 167
PDP 332
Omala LGA (six polling units across six
RV 2526
AV 799
APC 317
PDP 323
(Election cancelled at the polling 005 in
Olla ward due to violence and
destruction of election materials, the
Collation Officer said).
Ijumu LGA (one polling unit)
RV 705
AV 205
APC 86
PDP 102
Ankpa LGA (nine polling units across six
RV 6022
AV 1339
APC 562
PDP 629
Bassa LGA (two polling units across two
RV 742
AV 340
APC 221
PDP 114
Ibaji LGA (six polling units across five
RV 2678
AV 745
APC 369
PDP 220
(Election cancelled in two polling units
at Akpanyo and Ayah wards, affecting
710 voters, due to over voting and
violence respectively).
Ofu LGA (eight polling units across four
RV 4677
AV 1132
APC 105
APGA 440
PDP 484
(Even with APGA’s surprise feat, it had
no agent present to sign the results as
only PDP and APC agents did).
Lokoja LGA (five polling units across two
RV 2854
AV 833
APC 301
PDP 145
(There was a case of cancellation at
Kupa North East due to violence).
Dekina LGA (29 polling units across 7
RV 17,558
AV 4991
APC 2178
PDP 1999
(Election was cancelled at Etiaja junction
11 polling unit, affecting 1307 voters,
due to violence).

Posted by Gkelly


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s